Sélectionner une page

Xiaomi 1S Electric Scooter Review

Daniel
29 juillet 2021

Table des matières

 

A Mid-Ranged Scooter With a Top Speed of 15.5 mph and a range of 18 miles.

 

The Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is a brilliant entry-level offering of Xiaomi in their 2020 line of electric scooters. It does get the job done, but since it sits more on the affordable end, it is understandably missing a few enhanced features that come as standard on higher-priced e-scooter models.

Even so, it’s still quite a feat of an e-scooter worth reviewing, as Xiaomi made sure never to disappoint with any of their offerings — may it be a new phone or even an electric scooter.

For more information about the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter, read on.

 

Xiaomi 1S – La vérité

Xiaomi 1S electric scooter

The Xiaomi 1S E-Scooter comes with a 250W motor powered by a 7650mAh/275Wh Li-ion battery, which powers through almost all general road surfaces that you’d expect an electric scooter to zoom through.

It has a maximum climbing range of 14% and only weighs around 27.6 lbs, which is still quite heavy for an entry-level scooter. The good thing about it is that it has a maximum load capacity of 220 lb. On top of that, it only takes four hours to charge.

Ce n’est pas vraiment un scooter électrique puissant, mais la marque Xiaomi constitue un nom digne de confiance qui ne vous décevra sûrement pas. Il permet aux clients et aux consommateurs d’opter pour un scooter électrique de qualité et à un prix avantageux d’une marque de confiance, faisant du Xiaomi 1S une excellente option pour peser lorsqu’ils recherchent un scooter électrique pour les trajets quotidiens.

Lisez la suite pour un aperçu complet du Xiaomi 1S et de ses spécifications.

Spécifications du Xiaomi 1S

Motor250W motor (can go up to 500W maximum)
Battery7650mAh/275Wh Li-on battery
Charge Time4 hours
Single-Charge MileageApproximately 30 km (18 mi)
Max Speed25 kilometres per hour (15.5 miles per hour)
Climbing RangeUp to 14%
Braking SystemRegenerative electric E-ABS front brake, mechanical rear brake
Lighting1.1W front light and rear brake lights
Tyres8.5” pneumatic air-inflated
Max Load100 kilograms (220 lbs)
Scooter Weight12.5 kilograms (27.6 lbs)
Product MaterialUnspecified
Folding HandlebarUnspecified - Alloy Frame
Folding Steering TubeUnspecified - Alloy Frame
SuspensionNi installed suspension
Size (L x W x H, mm)Unfolded: 108 L x 43 W x 114 H cm
Folded: 108 L x 43 W x 49 H cm
Water ResistanceIP54 water resistance rating

Vidéo d’examen du Xiaomi 1S

Pour vous donner un bref récapitulatif de ce qui nous attend dans cette revue Xiaomi 1S, voici une courte vidéo de ce que propose cet e-scooter par rapport à ses frères et sœurs M365, M365 Pro, Essential et Mi Pro 2. Avec cela, vous pouvez facilement vérifier la différence que cela fait des autres scooters électroniques de la gamme Xiaomi 2020, ce qui montre clairement comment le Xiaomi 1S offre le strict minimum mais parvient toujours à fonctionner.

Avantages du Xiaomi 1S

tickicon Ce scooter électrique va droit au but et super facile à utiliser

tickicon Le régulateur de vitesse est un charmeur avec lequel travailler

tickicon Une trottinette assez confortable pour rouler

tickicon Il offre une fonctionnalité de verrouillage du moteur pour une couche supplémentaire de sécurité

tickicon L’indice de résistance à l’eau IP54 est bon pour les déplacements quotidiens sous une pluie légère

Xiaomi 1S Les inconvénients

red Sa portée maximale et sa vitesse de pointe sont relativement faibles

red Difficile sur les routes car il n’a pas de suspension

red La durée de vie de la batterie n’est pas si longue

red Ne peut pas affronter des pentes raides malgré les 14% promis

Résumé du Xiaomi 1S

Le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est loin d’être le scooter parfait, mais la meilleure chose à ce sujet est que vous en avez pour votre argent, avec un peu plus.

Issu de la gamme 2020 de Xiaomi, ce scooter d’entrée de gamme bon marché et accessible va de pair avec les versions antérieures de Xiaomi, car les deux offres vont bec et ongles pour rivaliser en termes de prix et de performances.

En revenant au Xiaomi 1S, c’est un scooter pratique qui surprend par son niveau et son prix. Bien qu’il soit assis aux niveaux inférieurs du Xiaomi 2020, il propose trois modes de conduite (Piéton, Standard et Sport), un verrouillage du moteur, un régulateur de vitesse, qui s’avère très utile, et un freinage régénératif.

En plus de cela, il comprend également des pneus pneumatiques gonflés à l’air de 8,5 pouces et une application complémentaire qui permet à votre téléphone de se connecter au scooter électrique en tant que cockpit étendu et d’avoir des commandes étendues pour certaines fonctionnalités. Parallèlement à cela, le moteur peut être poussé de 250W à 500W si nécessaire dans certaines situations, ce qui le rend meilleur pour gravir des pentes et des pentes.

Mais en ce qui concerne l’esthétique, le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S n’est pas loin de ses prédécesseurs bien qu’il s’agisse d’une version 2020. Je suppose que Xiaomi pense que vous ne réparez pas ce qui n’est pas cassé, mais vous améliorez les choses dont les gens se plaignent depuis les itérations précédentes. La même chose peut être dite pour son poids et sa vitesse de conduite, n’ayant que des améliorations et des ajouts mineurs pour le considérer comme le modèle actuel et mis à jour.

Pour ce que ça vaut, le Xiaomi 1S n’est pas si loin une version du M365, ce qui donne peu ou pas d’argument pour comparer lequel est le meilleur des deux. Au prix de 361 £ (499 $), il est vraiment difficile de se plaindre, surtout que Xiaomi s’est assuré de proposer un prix à la fois compétitif et raisonnable pour le marché.

Avec tout cela à l’esprit, c’est à vous de décider quel scooter vous devriez acheter. Mais pour l’instant, entrons dans le vif du sujet du Xiaomi 1S. Continuer à lire.

Aperçu des performances

Le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est livré avec une batterie lithium-ion 7650mAh/275Wh installée. Pour le charger, vous pouvez ouvrir le volet qui cache le point de charge quelque part à l’arrière du pont. Vous saurez qu’il est en charge lorsque l’écran LED s’allume et que le compteur de vitesse indique le pourcentage de la batterie déjà chargée.

Une seule batterie peut vous emmener jusqu’à 18 miles de distance et à un maximum de 15,5 mph. Et si vous cherchez à rendre votre Xiaomi 1S plus puissant, il y a toujours la possibilité de le faire tourner jusqu’à 11 – en poussant le moteur de 250W à 500W pour plus de couple et de puissance globale.

Trottinette électrique Xiaomi 1S

Vitesse maximale et accélération

Le mieux qu’il puisse fonctionner sur une seule batterie installée serait de 15,5 mph avec le moteur fonctionnant jusqu’à 250W ou 500W.

Gardez à l’esprit, cependant, que les conditions de la route, le poids du cycliste et de l’équipement et les conditions météorologiques affectent généralement les chiffres, de sorte que les résultats varient pour tout le monde.

Avec un moteur de 250 W et une batterie de 275 Wh, le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S peut vous emmener à des vitesses allant jusqu’à 15,5 mph, mais pour y arriver, il faudrait environ quelques secondes d’attente. Si vous souhaitez accélérer un peu les choses, vous pouvez toujours choisir de passer au couple de 500 W au prix d’une autonomie réduite.

Autonomie et autonomie de la batterie

La batterie du scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S n’est pas la plus puissante, avec seulement 275 Wh et 7650 mAh, et elle commence à devenir le principal sujet de plainte du scooter.

Comme il offre plusieurs modes de conduite – Piéton, Standard et Sport, opter pour des réglages plus puissants et plus puissants épuise rapidement les batteries.

Pour le chargement, sa batterie n’a besoin que de quatre heures pour se recharger complètement, ce qui est assez rapide pour un scooter électrique comme celui-ci.

Configuration du moteur

Le Xiaomi 1S est livré avec un moteur de 250W alimenté jusqu’à 500W en cas de besoin. Il offre suffisamment de couple pour pousser le scooter électrique à un taux de montée de 14%, ce qui est impressionnant pour un scooter électrique de ce niveau.

Qualité de construction et de construction

Bien que Xiaomi ne précise pas particulièrement de quoi ce modèle de scooter électrique est fabriqué, son poids n’atteint qu’environ 27,6 lb et peut transporter des cyclistes jusqu’à 220 lb. Il est également étonnamment facile à installer après le déballage, ce qui en fait l’un de ses arguments de vente les plus formidables aux côtés de son prix bas.

Tout ce que vous avez à faire est de déplier le scooter de son verrou, de pousser le garde-boue arrière vers le bas et de tirer sur le tube de direction jusqu’à ce qu’il s’enclenche. À partir de là, vous devrez fixer le guidon à l’aide des clés Allen fournies et de quatre vis.

La dernière chose que vous auriez besoin d’ajouter est la cloche incluse pour une couche de sécurité. Ensuite, vous êtes prêt à partir tant que les batteries sont déjà chargées !

Suspension

Il n’y a pas de suspension installée sur ce modèle de scooter électrique. La seule chose qui lui sert de « suspension » sont les pneus pneumatiques remplis d’air qu’il a installés.

Étonnamment, ils fonctionnent comme un charme et donnent au scooter électrique une sensation de confort et une qualité de conduite globalement assez décente.

Qualité de roulement

Le Xiaomi 1S n’est pas le meilleur, mais au moins vous obtenez un peu plus que ce que vous avez payé. D’une part, son moteur a tendance à avoir du mal sur les pentes et les pentes malgré son taux de montée de 14%.

Les pneus d’origine avec lesquels il est livré offrent une bonne suspension. Ce scooter électrique vous propose trois modes de conduite, mais le mode sport semble le plus logique la plupart du temps, surtout lorsque vous êtes pressé.

Enfin, son régulateur de vitesse rend toute l’expérience de conduite facile et supportable, ce qui en fait une conduite faisable et agréable.

Freinage

Le système de freinage du scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est un peu particulier, avec son avant doté d’un système de récupération d’énergie cinétique régénérative (KERS). En termes simples, cela signifie seulement que son utilisation pousse et renvoie une partie de l’énergie cinétique qu’elle crée à la batterie pour maintenir la puissance.

Ce frein à disque est un peu mou. Ainsi, si vous devez vous arrêter plus rapidement, optez pour le déclenchement du frein arrière mécanique en appuyant sur le garde-boue arrière.

Portabilité

Le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S ne pèse que 27,6 lb, soit à peu près le poids de charge de deux bébés de taille moyenne combinés.

Étant donné que son cou s’enclenche et se verrouille lorsqu’il est plié, ce n’est pas un gros problème d’essayer de le transporter ou de le garer à l’intérieur lorsque les batteries sont en charge ou que le scooter n’est pas utilisé.

Résistance à l’eau

Tout comme n’importe quel scooter électrique Xiaomi de la gamme 2020, seul le dessous de son châssis et une partie de sa manette sont étanches. Mais, tout le reste est classé IP54, ce qui signifie qu’il ne peut pas vraiment fonctionner sous de fortes pluies ou des flaques d’eau profondes.

Le Xiaomi 1S est conçu pour résister à l’eau qui le traverse, mais ce n’est pas quelque chose qui devrait faire un plongeon complet. Prenez soin de son moteur et de sa batterie pour ne sortir que sous une pluie légère – en évitant les flaques profondes, et vous serez prêt à partir.

Lumières

L’éclairage mis en place sur le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est assez simple car il propose un phare de 1,1 W et des feux stop.

Le manque de feux de position est compensé par des réflecteurs de grande qualité et le fait que les réglages du feu arrière peuvent être contrôlés avec l’application fournie avec le scooter électrique.

Pneus

Le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est doté de pneus pneumatiques standard de 8,5 pouces remplis d’air qui sont adhérents tout en offrant une suspension suffisante.

C’est une excellente paire avec laquelle travailler, d’autant plus qu’ils sont la seule source de suspension sur le scooter électrique, mais il parvient à rendre l’ensemble du trajet confortable et globalement paisible.

Plate-forme

Le pont offre suffisamment d’espace pour se tenir debout mais n’est pas si grand. Il permet également d’installer un siège chaque fois que vous avez envie de rouler sans avoir de crampes ou de fatiguer vos jambes en vous tenant debout.

Toute sa longueur et sa largeur sont également rembourrées par une poignée, vous assurant de rouler en toute sécurité, quelle que soit la vitesse de conduite à laquelle vous roulez.

Commandes et affichage

Ce scooter électrique hautes performances est doté de commandes ergonomiques qui sont confortablement verrouillées sur les deux guidons. Étant donné que ce scooter est livré avec des freins arrière et avant, les leviers de frein sont placés sur les deux poignées. Le guidon gauche abrite également d’autres commandes, telles que le verrouillage des touches, le bouton du klaxon, les boutons des feux de signalisation et le bouton marche/arrêt des phares.

L’accélérateur se trouve à droite, à côté de l’écran LCD clair. Ce dernier indique le niveau de puissance, le temps de trajet, la vitesse du niveau de la batterie, etc. De plus, il dispose de deux commutateurs qui permettent aux cyclistes de basculer entre les modes.

Écran Xiaomi 1S

L’affichage à LED est simple et direct, car il affiche les éléments suivants:

  • votre vitesse et votre puissance restante
  • dans quel mode vous êtes actuellement
  • quelques voyants de maintenance pour vous alerter si besoin
  • l’invite Bluetooth pour montrer que l’e-scooter est connecté à l’application qui est dans votre smartphone.

Les modes de conduite peuvent être basculés en appuyant deux fois sur le bouton d’alimentation. Pendant ce temps, appuyer trois fois sur le bouton d’alimentation allume rapidement le phare. Pour savoir dans quel mode de conduite vous êtes, notez qu’un « d » bleu à côté du compteur de vitesse signifie que vous êtes en mode conduite. Un « s bleu », en revanche, indique le mode sportif. Enfin, un homme qui marche signifie que vous êtes en mode piéton (maximum 3 mph). Son mode de conduite a une vitesse maximale de 12,5 mph, tandis que son mode sport vous emmène à des vitesses de pointe de plus de 15,5 mph.

De plus, l’application Xiaomi Home agit facilement comme un tableau de bord étendu qui se connecte via Bluetooth et reproduit l’affichage LED des scooters électriques. Cette application peut également être utilisée pour verrouiller les roues du scooter lorsque vous devez le laisser pendant un certain temps. C’est le seul endroit où vous pouvez également accéder au régulateur de vitesse du scooter.

Pour vous donner une meilleure idée du fonctionnement du régulateur de vitesse, il vérifie plus ou moins si vous roulez à vitesse constante pendant cinq secondes. Une fois qu’il reconnaît le motif, il émet un bip et prend en charge la conduite pour vous sans avoir besoin de maintenir l’accélérateur.

En plus de cela, son application s’occupe de votre rétro-éclairage, car vous pouvez choisir si vous voulez qu’il soit toujours allumé ou choisir une instance où il s’allume ou clignote. Sans oublier que vous pouvez également contrôler le moment où l’accélération est transmise au scooter entre 0 et 5 km/h, car la valeur par défaut est fixée à 4 km/h.

Fiabilité, garantie et support client

Issu de l’ancienneté des smartphones de Xiaomi, la marque de renommée mondiale veille à ne pas casser son nom en proposant des scooters électriques d’excellente qualité au prix le plus juste.

Les gens apprécient à quel point le scooter électrique est bien construit et à quel point il est rempli à ras bord de caractéristiques uniques, maximisant à la fois la conception et le contrôle de la qualité que vous n’obtenez généralement pas avec les scooters électriques à bas prix.

Des pneus à l’application et même aux spécifications améliorées, Xiaomi s’est assuré que cette entrée 1S ne décevrait pas. Il a fière allure, se sent bien à rouler et fonctionne très bien. Il n’est pas connu de casser facilement à moins que quelqu’un de plus de 100 kg ne le monte – alors les problèmes commenceraient à apparaître à gauche et à droite.

Aussi étonnant que puisse être le produit, le seul problème est leur support client, qui n’est pas particulièrement réactif ou compréhensif des problèmes et des plaintes des consommateurs.

Entretien

Outre ses pneus, il serait également judicieux de vérifier de temps en temps ses batteries. Les cycles de charge peuvent être difficiles à suivre, mais la seule chose qui va abandonner en premier sur ce scooter électrique serait sa source d’alimentation. La bonne chose est qu’il est super facile à remplacer.

Accessoires et mises à niveau

Le seul accessoire fourni avec ce scooter électrique est une sonnette pour plus de sécurité dans les rues. En plus de cela, son application téléphonique gratuite vous permet de dupliquer l’affichage LED et même d’avoir des commandes supplémentaires pour le scooter.

Problèmes connus

Il y a un problème réel avec ce modèle de scooter électrique qui est né en usine – et c’est à quel point la batterie est faible.

Ce scooter électrique est-il d’un bon rapport qualité-prix et vaut-il la peine d’être acheté ?

Et ceci conclut notre test Xiaomi 1S. Dans l’ensemble, ce n’est pas un mauvais scooter, mais ce n’est pas non plus le meilleur.

Pour son prix, il offre et donne beaucoup de fonctionnalités supplémentaires que vous n’obtiendrez pas d’autres scooters électriques du même niveau. Malheureusement, sa batterie et son moteur faibles ne compensent pas sa faiblesse simplement parce qu’il est bien accessoirisé, ce qui le repousse encore un peu de la liste des meilleurs scooters de la gamme de prix.

Néanmoins, le scooter électrique Xiaomi 1S est un produit pour le prix qui peut facilement être amélioré encore une fois avec un peu de recherche et de peaufinage.

Autres scooters électriques similaires

Ressource Xiaomi

Site Web de Xiaomi

danp d
Auteur:
Daniel Foley

BIO :

Daniel est un passionné de scooters qui a possédé et testé plus de 50 scooters différents. Passionné de scooter à temps partiel et spécialiste du référencement à temps partiel. Le scooter préféré de Daniel est le Dualtron Tonnerre .

 
Summary
0.0
Overall
Features
Moneywise
Distance
Speed
Quality
Design

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Select Page

Xiaomi 1S Electric Scooter Review

Daniel
9 June 2021

 

A Mid-Ranged Scooter With a Top Speed of 15.5 mph and a range of 18 miles.

 

The Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is a brilliant entry-level offering of Xiaomi in their 2020 line of electric scooters. It does get the job done, but since it sits more on the affordable end, it is understandably missing a few enhanced features that come as standard on higher-priced e-scooter models.

Even so, it’s still quite a feat of an e-scooter worth reviewing, as Xiaomi made sure never to disappoint with any of their offerings — may it be a new phone or even an electric scooter. 

For more information about the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter, read on.

 

Xiaomi 1S – The Lowdown

Xiaomi 1S electric scooter

The Xiaomi 1S E-Scooter comes with a 250W motor powered by a 7650mAh/275Wh Li-ion battery, which powers through almost all general road surfaces that you’d expect an electric scooter to zoom through.

It has a maximum climbing range of 14% and only weighs around 27.6 lbs, which is still quite heavy for an entry-level scooter. The good thing about it is that it has a maximum load capacity of 220 lb. On top of that, it only takes four hours to charge. 

It’s not really a powerful electric scooter, but the Xiaomi brand makes up for a trustworthy name that you surely won’t be disappointed in. It lets patrons and consumers opt for a quality e-scooter and a great price from a trusted brand, overall making the Xiaomi 1S a great option to weigh in when looking for an electric scooter for the daily commute.  

Read on for a comprehensive look at Xiaomi 1S and its specs.

Xiaomi 1S Specifications

Motor250W motor (can go up to 500W maximum)
Battery7650mAh/275Wh Li-on battery
Charge Time4 hours
Single-Charge MileageApproximately 30 km (18 mi)
Max Speed25 kilometres per hour (15.5 miles per hour)
Climbing RangeUp to 14%
Braking SystemRegenerative electric E-ABS front brake, mechanical rear brake
Lighting1.1W front light and rear brake lights
Tyres8.5” pneumatic air-inflated
Max Load100 kilograms (220 lbs)
Scooter Weight12.5 kilograms (27.6 lbs)
Product MaterialUnspecified
Folding HandlebarUnspecified - Alloy Frame
Folding Steering TubeUnspecified - Alloy Frame
SuspensionNi installed suspension
Size (L x W x H, mm)Unfolded: 108 L x 43 W x 114 H cm
Folded: 108 L x 43 W x 49 H cm
Water ResistanceIP54 water resistance rating

Xiaomi 1S Review Video

To give you a quick recap of what’s ahead for us in this Xiaomi 1S review, here’s a quick video of what this e-scooter offers compared to its M365, M365 Pro, Essential, and Mi Pro 2 siblings. With this, you can easily check out the difference it makes from the other electronic scooters in the Xiaomi 2020 lineup, making it apparent how the Xiaomi 1S offers the bare minimum but still manages to power through.

Xiaomi 1S Pros

This electric scooter is straight to the point and super easy to use 

Cruise control is a charmer to work with

A pretty comfortable scooter to ride on

It offers a motor lock functionality for an extra layer of safety

The IP54 water resistance rating is good for light rain commuting

Xiaomi 1S Cons

Its maximum range and top speed is relatively low

Picky on roads since it doesn’t have a suspension

Battery life is not that long-lasting

Can’t take on steep inclines despite the 14% promised

Xiaomi 1S Summary

The Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is far from being the perfect scooter, but the best thing about it is that you get what you pay for, along with a little more. 

Hailing from the 2020 lineup of Xiaomi, this entry-level scooter that’s cheap and accessible goes head-to-head with Xiaomi’s earlier releases as the two offerings go tooth and nail to compete on price and performance. 

Circling back to the Xiaomi 1S, it’s a convenient scooter that surprises its level and price point. Despite sitting at the Xiaomi 2020’s lower tiers, it offers three riding modes (Pedestrian, Standard, and Sport), a motor-lock, cruise control, which proves to be super useful, and regenerative braking. 

On top of that, it also features 8.5” pneumatic, air-filled tyres and a companion app that lets your phone connect to the e-scooter as an extended cockpit and to have some extended controls for certain features. Along with this, the motor can be pushed from 250W to 500W if needed be on certain situations, making it better at climbing slopes and inclines. 

But as far as aesthetics go, the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is not a far cry from its predecessors despite being a 2020 release. I guess Xiaomi believes that you don’t fix what isn’t broken, but you improve on the things people are complaining about from the previous iterations. The same can be said for its weight and riding speed, only having minor upgrades and additions to consider it as the current and updated model. 

For what it’s worth, the Xiaomi 1S is not that far a version from the M365, which gives little to no point of argument to compare which one’s better of the two. Priced at £361 ($499), it’s really hard to complain, especially that Xiaomi made sure to give off a price that’s both competitive and reasonable for the market.

With all these in mind, it’s up to you to decide which scooter you should get. But for now, let’s get into the nitty-gritty of Xiaomi 1S. Read on.

Performance Overview

The Xiaomi 1S e-scooter comes with a 7650mAh/275Wh Lithium-Ion battery installed. To charge it, you may open the flap that conceals the charging point somewhere at the rear part of the deck. You’ll know it’s charging when the LED display turns on, and the speedometer shows the percentage of the battery that has already charged. 

One battery alone can take you up to 18 miles far and at a maximum of 15.5 mph. And if you’re looking to make your Xiaomi 1S more powerful, there’s always the option to crank it up to 11 — pushing the motor from 250W into 500W for more torque and overall power.

Xiaomi 1S electric scooter

Top Speed & Acceleration

The best it can function on a single battery installed would be 15.5 mph with the motor running up to 250W or 500W.

Keep in mind, though, that the road conditions, rider and gear weight, and weather conditions usually affect the numbers, so the results would vary for everyone.

With a 250W motor and a 275Wh battery in tow, the Xiaomi 1S e-scooter can take you to speeds of up to 15.5 mph, but getting there would need roughly a few seconds of waiting time. If you want to speed things up a bit, you can always opt to switch to the 500W torque at the cost of lower battery life.

Battery Life & Range

The battery of the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is not the most powerful, sitting only at 275 Wh and 7650 mAh, and it’s starting to become the scooter’s main point of complaint. 

As it offers several riding modes — Pedestrian, Standard, and Sport, going for more powerful and power-heavy settings quickly drains the batteries up. 

For charging, its battery only needs four hours to fully charge, which is quite fast for an e-scooter like this. 

Motor Configuration

The Xiaomi 1S comes with a 250W motor powered up to 500W when needed to be. It offers enough torque to push the electric scooter to a climb rating of 14%, which is impressive for an e-scooter at this tier. 

Construction & Build Quality

Although Xiaomi doesn’t particularly specify what this electric scooter model is made from, its weight only clocks around 27.6 lbs and can carry riders up to 220 lbs. It’s also surprisingly easy to set up after unboxing, making it one of its most formidable selling points alongside its low price. 

All you have to do is unfold the scooter from its lock, push the rear fender down, and pull on the steerer tube until it locks into place. From there, you’d need to attach the handlebars using the provided Allen wrenches and four screws. 

The last thing you’d need to add is the bell included for a layer of safety. Then, you’re good to go as long as you have the batteries already charged! 

Suspension

There is no installed suspension on this e-scooter model. The only thing that acts as its “suspension” are the pneumatic air filled tyres that it has installed. 

Surprisingly, they do work like a charm and give the electric scooter a comfortable feel and overall quite decent ride quality.

Ride Quality

The Xiaomi 1S isn’t the best one out there, but at least you get a bit more than what you paid for. For one, its motor tends to struggle on slopes and inclines despite its 14% climb rating. 

The stock tyres it comes with do give a good amount of suspension This electric scooter does present you with three modes to ride in, but the sport one seems most logical at most times, especially when you’re in a rush. 

Lastly, its cruise control makes the entire riding experience easy and bearable — making up for a doable and enjoyable ride. 

Braking

The braking system of the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is a wee bit peculiar, with its front sporting a regenerative Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS). In layman’s terms, it only means that using it pushes and feeds a part of the kinetic energy it creates back to the battery to sustain the power. 

This disc brake is a bit mellow. So, if you need to stop faster, opt for triggering the mechanical rear brake by stepping on the rear fender.

Portability

The Xiaomi 1S electric scooter weighs only 27.6 lbs, roughly the load weight of two average-sized babies combined. 

Since its neck snaps and locks to place when folded in, it’s not a big problem to try and carry it around or park it indoors when the batteries are charging, or the scooter is not in use. 

Water Resistance

Much like any Xiaomi electric scooter from the 2020 line, only the underneath of its chassis and a part of its controller is waterproof. But, everything else is IP54 rated, which means it can’t really power through heavy rain or deep puddles. 

The Xiaomi 1S is built to withstand some water passing through it, but it’s not something expected to take a full dip. Take care of its motor and battery to only go out in light rain – avoiding deep puddles, and you’d be good to go. 

Lights

The lighting set up on the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is pretty simple as it offers a 1.1W headlight and brake lights. 

The lack of side lights is compensated for by great quality reflectors, and that the rear light’s settings can be controlled with the app that comes with the electric scooter. 

Tyres

The Xiaomi 1S electric scooter features standard, run-of-the-mill, 8.5” air-filled pneumatic tyres that are grippy yet offer enough suspension. 

They’re a great pair to work with, especially that they’re the only source of suspension on the electric scooter, yet it manages to make the entire ride comfortable and overall peaceful.

Deck

The deck offers ample space to stand on but is not that big. It also allows for a seat to be installed whenever you feel like riding without cramping or tiring your legs by standing. 

Its entire length and width are also padded by a grip, ensuring you’re safe to go no matter what driving speed you are riding on. 

Controls & Display

This high-performance electric scooter boasts ergonomically designed controls that are comfortably latched onto the two handlebars. Since this scooter comes with rear and front brakes, the brake levers are placed on both handles. The left handlebar also houses other controls, such as the key lock, horn button, signal-light buttons and on/off headlight button.

The accelerator sits to the right, alongside the clear LCD display. This latter shows the power level, ride time, battery level speed, and more. In addition, it boasts two switches that allow riders to switch between modes.

Xiaomi 1S display

The LED display is simple and straightforward, as it displays the following:

  • your speed and remaining power
  • what mode you’re currently in
  • some maintenance lights to alarm you if need be
  • the Bluetooth prompt to show that the e-scooter is connected to the app that’s in your smartphone.

The riding modes can be toggled by pressing the power button twice. Meanwhile, pressing the power button thrice quickly turns the headlight on. To know which riding mode you’re in, note that a blue “d” beside the speedometer means you’re in drive mode. A “blue s,” on the other hand, denotes the sporty mode. Lastly, a walking man means you’re in pedestrian mode (maximum 3 mph). Its drive mode has a speed that maxes out at 12.5mph, while its sport mode takes you to top speeds of over 15.5 mph. 

Additionally, the Xiaomi Home app easily acts as an extended dashboard that connects via Bluetooth and replicates the E-scooters LED display. This app can also be used to lock the scooter wheels when you need to leave it for a while. It is the only place where you can access the scooter’s cruise control as well.

To give you a better idea of how cruise control works, it more or less checks in if you’re travelling at a constant speed for five seconds. Once it recognises the pattern, it beeps and takes over the driving for you without needing to hold down the throttle. 

On top of that, its app takes care of your backlight, as you can choose if you want it always on or choose an instance where it comes on or flashes. Not to mention, you may also control when acceleration is fed to the scooter between 0 to 5kph, as the default is set to 4kph. 

Reliability, Warranty & Customer Support

Stemming from Xiaomi’s smartphone tenure, the globally renowned brand makes sure not to break its name by offering excellent quality electric scooters at the fairest of prices. 

People appreciate how well-built the e-scooter is and how it’s filled to the brim with unique features, maximising both design and quality control that you don’t usually get from low-tier budget electric scooters. 

From the tyres to the app and even the upgraded specs, Xiaomi made sure this 1S entry would not disappoint. It looks great, feels good to ride on, and performs super well. It’s not known to break easily unless you have someone over 100 kg ride it — then problems would start popping out left and right. 

Astounding as the product may be, the only problem is their customer support, which is not particularly all that responsive or understanding of consumer problems and complaints. 

Maintenance

Aside from its tyres, it would also be wise to check on its batteries from time to time. Charge cycles can be tricky to track, but the only thing that’s going to give up first on this e-scooter would be its source of power. The good thing is that it’s super easy to replace. 

Accessories & Upgrades

The sole accessory that comes with this electric scooter is a bell for added safety on the streets. Aside from that, its free phone app allows you to duplicate the LED display and even have some extra controls for the scooter.

Known Issues

There’s an actual problem going on with this e-scooter model that is factory-born — and that is how weak the battery is. 

Is this E-Scooter value for money and is it worth buying?

And this concludes our Xiaomi 1S review. Overall, it’s not a bad scooter, but it also isn’t the best. 

For its price point, it does offer and give a lot of added functionality that you won’t get from other electric scooters at the same level. Sadly, its weak battery and motor don’t make up for its weakness just because it’s well-accessorised, which still pushes it back a bit from the list of top scooters in the price range. 

Nonetheless, the Xiaomi 1S electric scooter is a bang for the buck product that can easily be improved yet again with a bit of research and tweaking. 

Xiaomi Resource

Xiaomi Website

Author:
Daniel Foley

BIO: 

Daniel is an avid scooter fan who has owned and tested over 50 different scooters. Part time scooter enthusiast & part time SEO specialist.  Daniels favourite scooter is the Dualtron Thunder.

 
Summary
  • This electric scooter is straight to the point and super easy to use
  • Cruise control is a charmer to work with
  • A pretty comfortable scooter to ride on
  • It offers a motor lock functionality for an extra layer of safety
  • The IP54 water resistance rating is good for light rain commuting
  • Its maximum range and top speed is relatively low
  • Picky on roads since it doesn’t have a suspension
  • Can’t take on steep inclines despite the 14% promised
  • Battery life is not that long-lasting
4.1
Overall
Features
Moneywise
Distance
Speed
Quality
Design

Average rating 3.7 / 5. Vote count: 3

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.